Illini Replay: Dana Howard

Dana Howard (Image courtesy of UI Athletics)

The pride of East St. Louis is getting his due in recognition of a legendary college gridiron career. Illinois all-time great Dana Howard, ’94 LAS, is one of 10 former standout players and three coaches who comprise the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018, which was announced Jan. 8. The two-time First Team All-American linebacker and Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year in 1993 and 1994, Howard finished his career as the Big Ten’s all-time leader in tackles (595) and won the prestigious Butkus Award—named after Illinois legend and fellow College Football Hall of Famer Dick Butkus, ’65 LAS—in 1994, becoming the first Illini football player to win a major national trophy. He will be the 17th Illini in the Hall. Howard and the star-studded class, which also includes Charles Woodson and Calvin Johnson, will be inducted on Dec. 4, 2018, in New York City.