The University of Illinois Alumni Association Announces 2024 Alumni Award Recipients

For Immediate Release

July 1, 2024, Urbana, Ill.
The University of Illinois Alumni Association (UIAA) announces the recipients of its Alumni Awards for 2024. The slate of awards in six categories will be presented in conjunction with the University of Illinois Homecoming Week. The UIAA will honor nine awardees this year, including:

  • Mary Schubauer-Berigan, ’87 LAS, and George W. Lundeen, MFA ’73 FAA, as Alumni Achievement Award recipients
  • James. F. Evans, PHD ’68 MEDIA, and Marlene M. Evans as Distinguished Service Award recipients
  • Scott L. Lichtenthal, MBA ’21 BUS, and Anna L. Oldani, ’12 ENG, MS ’14 ENG, PHD ’19 ENG, as Young Alumni Award recipients
  • Michelle Tjelmeland, EDM ’00 EDU, as the Diversity and Inclusion Award recipient
  • David L. Clark, ’77 ENG, as the Lou Liay Spirit Award recipient
  • Brian Barnhart as the Honorary Alumnus
The awardees will be honored at the UIAA’s 2024 Alumni Awards Gala on September 12, 2024, at Pear Tree Estate in Champaign, Ill. For information about the awards program or the awards gala, contact the UIAA at or call (800) 355-3586.